Installing Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 SP1 on XP-64bit SP2

VPC, otherwise known as VirtualPC, is a small virtualization software provided by Microsoft(MS) for free. It’s an easy-to-use program that I came across in my MCITP class, and recommended by both the MS textbook and instructor. VPC is useful for future techs who plan on becoming certified and don’t quite have the expensive PC specs of today’s ever-growing tech industry; as you can tell by now, I am one of those future techs.

VPC Link:

For Windows 7

For all other Windows OS

Steps:

1. Download VPC based on what OS you are using.

2. Follow the install wizard.

3. Install update for VPC 2007 SP1, click here.

4. Install security update for this version, click here. A restart may be needed here.

5. Since I use this program frequently, I pinned it on my start menu; otherwise, you can create a desktop shortcut.

Leave a comment